Having Faith in the Community we live in!

Many of you may not be aware, but Pompey in the Community work with between 6000 and 7000 people every week! They are all ages, both genders and all abilities. As you can imagine, working with so many people means that sometimes we are just too busy to stop and see what it means to the people that we are delivering too and those people that are actually delivering as well!

Louis Faith is one of the people that has seen the organisation from the inside and the outside! He has taken part in sessions as a participant and then delivering sessions himself as part of the charitable organisation, later on down the line.

Louis is now an employees of the charity, and has taken a path which many others may not have considered possible.

IMG_0451

‘When I was 12 In 2007 Barclays Spaces for Sport developed a multi-activity site in Bransbury Park (Eastney & Craneswater Ward). Walking through the park on the way back from a day at the beach My friends and I noticed a massive open day at the Bransbury Site. Respect Programme was launched!! Since that day I had no obligation to not get involved, everything they had to offer I enjoyed, football, boxing, cricket, beach volleyball. You name it PITC provided it! By the time I was 15 I had been involved with most of the activities offered. I started to volunteer on Monday evenings helping out on the Boxing and football sessions. Being involved with PITC gave me a new lease of life.’

‘When I was 16 I had no choice of further education as I was considered Anti-social and my school attendance wasn’t great, so colleges didn’t want to commit to me. I went down to PITC’s Respect Programme and told them my situation. They provided me with alternative routes into employment by offering me various apprenticeships and training. Every step of the way I had guidance and support from every staff member possible. within two and a half years I had completed 3 different apprenticeship courses and was a fully qualified Level 3 Youth Worker. I have never felt more grateful for anything in my life and wish there was someway to repay all the staff who had helped meon my journey.’ 

Louis is not the only person to have benefited from working with the organisation in this way, and he will certainly not be the last. Pompey in the Community, is exactly what it says on the ‘tin’. It is ‘The Community’ that makes the organisation what it is. Whether that be, delivering to children or adults, engaging with businesses or even offering career opportunities for people. Sometimes as an organisation, we miss out on the good newsstories from what we deliver, but that doesn’t mean we lose sight of what we set out to achieve.

We are always looking for support from businesses, individuals and organisations, if you think you can work with the organisation in some way, then please do not hesitate to get in contact. https://pompeyitc.hubbub.net

Leave a Reply

