PITC sign Phillips for GSR 2016

Great-South-Run

Every week we are running a feature on some of our runners who are putting blood, sweat and tears into raising money for Pompey in the Community for the Great South Run in October. In true Forrest Gump fashion we focus on our leader and chief Steven Phillips, who one day decided he just ‘felt like running’ for Pompey in the Community. Here is his bio.

I live in Waterlooville but I was born and educated in Portsmouth. From an early age, my Dad took me and my brothers to Fratton Park and I was hooked!

Over the years, there have been many ups and downs as any Pompey fan will know. My wife has not forgotten her only Pompey match back in about 1989 – we stood on the terraces in torrential rain. The weather was so bad that play was actually abandoned for a while!

I’m particularly pleased that the club’s ownership crisis is now behind us and that we now have a well-run Community owned football club.  As a PST shareholder myself, I’m proud to have done my bit to help make that happen.

I became aware of Pompey in the Community when they recently launched a successful crowdfunding initiative to expand into new premises. I donated and did my best to promote the campaign on social media. In July, Clare Martin and Adam Lea gave me a guided tour of the new facilities (nearly complete at that time) and I was very impressed.

When I decided earlier this year to enter the Great South Run, I wanted to take the opportunity to raise money for a local charity. I was therefore delighted to be able to help launch this exciting PITC initiative with the aim of raising money for a new minibus that will be used by the whole Pompey community. It’s also great that my son and daughter will be joining me in the PITC team.

I only took up running 5 years ago and have previously completed the Great South Run three times. I love running but the Great South doesn’t get any easier! I work near Reading as a Chartered Mechanical Engineer, so during the week I have to fit in training runs around long working days. At weekends, I take part in the Southsea Parkrun and Hilsea Great Run Local 5k’s whenever I can.

I’m really looking forward to running on 23rd October wearing a PITC shirt. A big thank you to the other runners in the team; hopefully we’ll get plenty of support from Pompey fans on the day to help us all get to the finish line!

In the meantime, all donations to our JustGiving page, however big or small, will be gratefully received. Let’s get to that £10k target!

https://www.justgiving.com/pitc

 

Leave a Reply

